5 comments on “The Book As Promotional Tool.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Book As Promotional Tool. « Gary William Murning Online -- Topsy.com

  2. Great post, Gary. I give a lot of my books away, though not on street corners (yet!). I run monthly contests on my website and offer giveaways on Goodreads. On occasion, I’ll also offer my first book (of 6) as a free e-book. When I do this, I always see an increase in sales a few weeks later. Many of my contest winners have gone on to purchase my other books. It’s a slow build but it does work. The technique has worked on me, as well. I’ve received ARC and/or review copies of books from unfamiliar authors, then gone on to purchase their other books. Nothing wrong with offering a sampling to spark interest!

    As for passing books on to friends, I’ve been doing that since I was a kid. Don’t ew all? I know what you mean about that initial gut reaction but it is, in all honesty, one of the highest compliments an author can receive. Your book is good enough to share!

    • Hi Darcia. Yes, I did a book giveaway on Goodreads myself and have found that moderately effective. A lot of people have me on their to read list but not sure how many of them will actually get round to buying. We’ll see.

      My publisher and I do send out review copies, of course. And I’m all for offering sample chapters. But beyond that, I think one has to be really careful.

      Must admit, I rarely share books! The ones I like, I like to keep in pristine condition, the ones I don’t, yes, go to the charity shop. I’ve never really borrowed books, either, all that much. I like the smell of a new book LOL.

Leave a Reply

