4 comments on “What Editors Want.

  1. Very enlightening post. I wasn’t aware of the Authonomy site. Ditto to all your comments regarding celeb work. Ever wonder how much of their stuff is GW?

    • Most of it is ghostwritten, Sandy. The majority of celebrity authors actually admit it! Some of them even seen quite proud of the fact. Bizarrely.

      Strange breed, these celebrity types.

      Glad you liked the post and hope to see you over there.

  2. I had a look at Authonomy when you first mentioned it, but I was a bit hesitant about signing up when I saw this in the terms and conditions:

    By posting Content on the Website you hereby grant to us a license to use, modify, publicly display, reproduce and distribute such Content on the Website.

    The Creative Commons license that I use for my writing these days allows this as long as it’s non-commercial and I am given credit. I wasn’t sure if that was also in their policy, but I’ve just noticed this line right below it:

    This license does not grant us the right to sell your Content.

    So I guess that’s okay.

    Now I just need to write 10 000 words. Vive[nt] les vacances !

    • Yes, Angela, the terms and conditions look okay to me, too. The author doesn’t give away any rights whatsoever, and the licence he/she grants them only applies to that website itself. I think it’s merely a case of their wanting to use it in a promotional capacity, should the work submitted be successful etc.

Leave a Reply

