2 comments on “The Value of Elbow Room.

  1. (Found you from alphainventions, by the way)
    I absolutely agree! I like to have a vague outline, but not one that’s too closely defined. I find that without an outline at all, I tend to flounder, and write scenes in which nothing happens, but I still like to leave room for sudden inspiration to strike.

  2. I must admit, Claire, even with a vague outline I still occasionally find myself writing a scene that flounders. I try not to worry about it, now, though. Such scenes can always be edited out later and quite often they seem to, for me, provide a necessary mental bridge that allows me to get to the next part of the story.

    Nice to “meet” you, by the way. Nice to see that alphainventions is bringing me new readers and valuable input 🙂

Leave a Reply

