10 comments on “The Secret to Publication.

  1. Pingback: Democratic America, Goverment and Election » The Secret to Publication.

  2. Oh dear. I do sympathize and I will try to help.
    You might achieve 15 minutes of fame by getting getting a border collie and teaching it to bark “Nessun Dorma”. Then, you and he audition for Britain’s Got Talent…

  3. I’m liking your thinking, and of course there would be the added bonus of seeing Amanda Holden in the flesh… so to speak… or maybe… a border collie, Nessun Dorma and Amanda Holden? If that doesn’t do the trick, what will?!

    You can drop by any time 😉

  4. Gary, you’ve made a rookie mistake.

    SELLING books has nothing to do with the quality of writing. Indeed, the books you talked about are very rarely written by these celebrities themselves – except for the Obama book you mentioned, which, by the way, is fucking outstanding.

    Do you wish to be a writer, or famous for writing? If it is genuinely the former, then you’re doing it right now – with the added bonus of reader interaction!

    PS – [EDIT — GWM: bad tummy pains] to Palin, McCain looks like a peanut, etc.

  5. David:

    SELLING books has nothing to do with the quality of writing. Indeed, the books you talked about are very rarely written by these celebrities themselves

    Yes, I was actually aware of that, mate 😉 ‘Twas written with a huge dollop of irony. I frequently enjoy ranting about the celebrity obsession in publishing… but you probably knew that, right?

    except for the Obama book you mentioned, which, by the way, is fucking outstanding.

    I’ll have to give that a looking at, then. I suspected it might actually be a good read.

    Do you wish to be a writer, or famous for writing? If it is genuinely the former, then you’re doing it right now – with the added bonus of reader interaction!

    I want to be a writer and be famous for my writing! However, given that I’ve been doing this for something like 20 years I’m sure you can guess the answer. I’d rather be good at what I do and be known and respected by a handful of people than have someone else do it for me and make a vast fortune… actually, that’s bullshit. Just give me the money! LOL

    Only kidding. Honest 😉

    Incidentally, hope you don’t mind but I edited your comment. Wouldn’t want people thinking you or I endorsed political assassinations — however entertaining they might be!

  6. I MAY have sensed the irony. I may have replied in the same vein.

    When you’re done with the Obama book, go read ‘The Audacity Of Hope’. It’s like an episode of The West Wing written by Frank Capra. Heartwarming stuff.

    PS – Mild discomfort to Cheney, a troubling itch to Bush, etc

  7. I MAY have sensed the irony. I may have replied in the same vein.

    And I may have thought you did 😉 Though I doubt it.

    The Audacity of Hope… is it really as entertaining as you make it sound?

  8. Benedict XVI is writing an autobiography. It’s to be called The Audacity of Pope.

    Thanks, I’ll be here all week! Try the veal!

Leave a Reply

