8 comments on “Where I Am.

  1. Thanks Gary for the mention and cheers again for the post on the Small Business Tech blog. 🙂 Very kind of you to post on the blog.

    Best of luck with ‘Through the Stormy Shades’.

  2. It’s my pleasure, Andrew. And I will get that voice recognition post written for you as promised as soon as possible.

    Thanks for the good wishes regarding Through the Stormy Shades. I think I’m back on track 😉

  3. That’s awesome, Gary! You’re getting all kinds of offers these days! Glad to hear it!

    I’ll be keeping an eye out for updates on Through the Stormy Shade.

    That bed not only looks uncomfortable, it looks downright painful. Nine weeks? I can’t imagine nine minutes… How old were you at the time?

  4. Ghazala: thank you. You’re very welcome and I certainly look forward to writing more for you very soon (I, as yet, have not had any ideas for further articles that would be appropriate for TPS but I’m sure I’ll have something for you in the next week or two.)

    Lottie: it’s pretty incredible, the offers, I mean. The old blog really seems to be taking off.

    I’ll probably write a little more regarding that bed over coming weeks… there’s more to it than first appears! I was about 14 at the time and I’d had spinal surgery. It’s amazing what you can get used to. The bed has the capacity to allow the patient to be flipped over on to another mattress (they sandwich you between the two — that’s what the circular bit is for) in order to prevent bedsores. Some of the time I was on my back, some of the time I was on my stomach, but under no circumstance could I turn on my side. Given how narrow it was I wasn’t actually all that inclined to try! 🙂

    Taking a dump on your back is something everyone should try at least once in their lives! See the black tray underneath? That’s where the bedpan goes LOL. They remove a bottom-sized piece of the mattress and underlying canvas, your bottom hangs through and… bombs away!

    Too much information? LOL

  5. Actually, no, it’s not too much information. It’s the kind of thing one wonders about in this context (or maybe it’s just me) but hesitates to ask.

    So, if you don’t mind another question, were you always flat on your back or stomach, or were you able to sit or be propped up at all?

    Sorry if I’m being too nosy. I get the curious bug from time to time. 😛

  6. Yikes Gary… what exactly was the bed for? I’m not sure I want to know, but heck.. I’m not a cat so curiosity can’t kill me.

  7. Lottie: no, I was completely flat the whole time. I didn’t particularly feel like moving all that much, though! (See my reply below to fracas.)

    You’re not being too nosy at all. Given that I’m going to write about it in detail, it’s actually helping me remember things I’d forgotten!

    Fracas: it was intended for spinal patients — for those who had broken their backs and, in my case, those who had had corrective surgery for a scoliosis (curvature of the spine.) If you think that looks like a torture device, you should see the various forms of traction they occasionally use with them — halo-femoral traction, for example, which you’ll be pleased to know I can’t find any photos of!

Leave a Reply

