15 comments on “The Fall.

  1. This is very good, Gary!

    Since we only have 100 words to tell the story, we have to substitute insinuation for all the words we may have otherwise used. You did that very well, I think!

    Great drabble! 😀

  2. You certainly believe in stretching yourself, don’t you, mate? Time and God in one hundred words! I don’t know whether to applaud you for giving it a go or fetch the straitjacket! 😉

    I’ll give it a thorough reading and then decide.

  3. Gary, this was very vivid and descriptive. I found this task so difficult, but you’ve done a good job with it. I like your style. 🙂

  4. Mike: “suggestive of madness” is pretty much what I was aiming for, so cheers!

    Kallioppe: thank you! It served, for me, as a reminder of just how powerful subtlety can be. But, yes, it was difficult… surprisingly so, in many respects.

  5. Very dark and eerie. I think the stark language helps elevate the sense of total despair. The effect is disorientation which in turn work to communicate emotions that are hard to articulate.

  6. Thanks, Gessy. A really helpful analysis. I wanted that madness from despair feeling — a loss of hope and an overwhelming senselessness. Grief and blame working their combined wickedness! 🙂

Leave a Reply

