12 comments on “Unlike Me.

  1. I don’t know how I write characters, Gary – I just feel them. I do ask my wife for advice about the way a woman would say something, they do speak very differently from men, so I do find them hard to flesh out, so to speak.

  2. It’s a peculiar process, isn’t it? I often use the phrase “meet my characters” and non-writers tend to give me funny looks, but that really is what it’s like for me. I meet them and then spend time getting know them.

  3. Well, I don’t write characters. I’ve tried but they always turn out to be slightly altered versions of me. I just don’t have a talent for it (maybe someday) but I find the topic interesting.

    Do you find it difficult to write children? Any thoughts on that, specifically?

    By the way, you got my vote even before I read this. 😉

  4. Characters should be slightly different versions of the writer, Lottie. Even the ostensibly very different ones lol. That’s how we make them human; by stepping into the role and shaping them with our own experiences.

    I think 🙂

    I actually blogged about the whole writing children thing here. You might find it interesting.

    Incidentally, did you click on the vote for me button? It doesn’t seem to have registered 😦

  5. Maybe I’m not so bad at it after all. 😉

    I don’t know how I missed your post on writing children. Maybe it was when I had trouble getting your site to load. Anyway, I’ll have a better look later today. I have to rush off in just bit.

    Come to think of it, when I clicked the button to vote for you, it took ages for it do anything. Maybe some kind of error? I’ll do it again. Let me know if it works this time. 😀

  6. Maybe the post was written when you and that Mike bloke were getting hitched? 😉

    Not sure if it worked… doesn’t seem to have, but it may just be a crap service! 🙂

  7. Hmmm… I was able to go through the voting process without a hitch. I will click on the darn thing every day until my vote registers. 😀

  8. I do the same thing you do — I try to find a piece of the character that Ic an relate to, as well. Sometimes it becomes difficult for me, though — and sometimes the character begins to show too many of my own character traits, without trying to let them. Do you have this problem? How do you counteract it? Great blog, btw… =)

  9. Yes, I do occasionally have to deal with this problem. Not as much as I used to, however…. I’ll have to have a think about how I counteract it, though. Writing’s so intuitive for me, now, that it isn’t always easy to pinpoint how I do what I do, you know? It might make a good blog post, though, so keep checking back 🙂

    Really pleased you like my blog. And thanks for commenting — it’s always great when people take the time to contribute.

Leave a Reply

