8 comments on “What Place in Our Future?

  1. I read the bbc article also and completely agree with your views.

    Come on guys / ladies sort it out and give em more funding!

  2. Thanks for commenting, Andrew. It’s a truly sad state of affairs — especialy when one also considers the state of science in schools. I really worry about our ability to compete a few years down the road.

  3. Hi Gary,

    Cheers for the response on my blog. I responded to it there and long story…. your response got deleted (I should upgrade to wordpress or another blog me thinks). Sorry about that.

    I’ve added your excellent blog to my blogsphere on my site.

    Science in school for myself personally was just going through the motions!

    It was primarily dull. It really felt like there was a lot to cover so pay attention and then there is a test later type situation.

    Science could be fun and more rewarding for students. Its only through reading, tv and the internet have I really discovered this on a personal level. Sad.

  4. Hi again, Andrew,

    Unfortunately, I can’t find your reply to my “disappeared” comment on your blog. What software/platform are you using? I’ve tried most and I can really recommend WordPress.

    Thanks for the blogroll add!

    Funnily enough, I’ve just started reading Feynman’s Six Easy Pieces (taken from The Feynman Lectures), and, yet again, I find myself thinking that there should be a Feynman in every science classroom! If only.

    Science could be fun and more rewarding for students. Its only through reading, tv and the internet have I really discovered this on a personal level. Sad.

    Same here, my friend. Have you seen Dawkins’s RI Christmas Lectures?

  5. The British government have always viewed science as a second cousin to Banking, Gary – Money makes the world go around.

    Those Victorians did a lot of good – and that is about where the British government want to stay.

  6. Cheers for the recommendation, your right. I really must change to wordpress. I’ve been using the little known simplephp.

    The RI lectures are fantastic and keeps people of all ages interested whilst informative. That should be what the class room is about and parents treated to animated conversations with their children later that day discussing the topics.

    Six Easy Pieces looks like a great read, especially for the price! For the next few weeks though I am going back to fiction starting with Greg Bear’s Eternity which I have read too many times to mention.

    I like Will’s comment “Those Victorians did a lot of good – and that is about where the British government want to stay.” Worthy of further consideration and discussion.

  7. Hi Andrew,

    Yes, Will often gets to the root of an issue. You should check out his blog, if you haven’t already.

    I do think there’s a massive reluctance to build on what has been achieved, and I suppose a huge part of that, from a governmental point of view, is that science just isn’t a vote winner. When there are priorities such as funding the NHS to throw about like the political football it’s become, nobody wants to touch it. It doesn’t matter to them that we have massively declining numbers of home-grown doctors to actually work in the NHS, as long as they get their votes. That’s why I think it’s important to educate the voting public in the need for science — so that they can ask the right questions and make the right demands of their MPs.

    A general change in attitude is required, on many levels. I’m just not sure it’s all that doable.

Leave a Reply

