8 comments on “Spew and Spread.

  1. Wow. It make me ill to read that, but I thank you for posting the link. I was amused by the way she admonishes Mr Sherman for being an atheist and then implies that he is against gun control due to her assumptions about his personal philosophy. What?!?

    You’re right that it’s not about religion vs. atheism, it’s about an attempt at censorship and the unwillingness of an elected representative to abide by the Constitution.

    I’m glad that I live in a country where I have the First Amendment right to state that I think Rep. Monique Davis is a dumbass.

  2. You’re welcome, jimsmuse. It’s a horrible little episode — especially so, I would imagine, for an American citizen. Did you read the readers’ comments? Very refreshing.

  3. Thanks for sharing this, Gary. I found the readers’ comments refreshing as well. I also thought this was worth a mention:

    Ronald A. Lindsay, director of the Council for Secular Humanism’s First Amendment Task Force, is calling for Davis to resign. “In informing Sherman that he had ‘no right’ to be there merely because he was an atheist, Davis confirmed that she is not willing to be a representative of all her constituents, regardless of their religious beliefs,” said Lindsay.

    “She is unfit to serve in her office, just as a representative who told a Jew or a Hindu to ‘get out of that seat’ would be unfit to serve. If she does not resign, the Illinois House has an obligation to expel her,” continued Lindsay.

    I’ll definitely be following this.

  4. Apparently, Davis has apologized to Sherman:

    Lawmaker Apologizes For Comments Against Atheist

    Sherman says Davis told him she “took out her frustrations and emotions on me and that she shouldn’t have done that.” Sherman says Davis’ explanation was “reasonable” and that he forgives her.

    According to Sherman and State Rep. Jack Franks….Davis claims her outburst was triggered by learning shortly beforehand…that there’d been another Chicago Public School student killed.

    State Rep. Jack Franks was chairing the hearing that day and says Davis’ outburst was uncharacteristic, adding “she was having a bad day.”

    Well, that’s a start, but she’s not off the hook as far as I’m concerned.

    I appreciate her emotional state, but do not accept it as an excuse for this kind of outburst. To the contrary, I believe that in her rather shaky state, her true colors were revealed in more ways than one. (I’ll elaborate when I have more time.)

    While it was Sherman she was addressing at the time, her comments were an attack on atheists in general. I think she needs to apologize to all atheists, as well as the general public. When someone in Davis’ position attempts to violate the rights and freedoms of one group, everyone’s liberties are jeopardized.

    Thomas Paine expressed this more eloquently than I ever could:

    He that would make his own liberty secure, must guard even his enemy from oppression; for if he violates this duty, he establishes a precedent that will reach to himself.

  5. I appreciate her emotional state, but do not accept it as an excuse for this kind of outburst.

    My first and lasting feeling regarding her referring to the student killing, and using it as justification for her outburst was and is that it was a cop-out and about as cheap as they come. It leaves a very bad taste. I’m in complete agreement, Lottie.

    Paine, as ever, gets it bang on the button.

    Again, thanks for sharing and keeping me/us up to speed. It’s really appreciated.

  6. My first and lasting feeling regarding her referring to the student killing, and using it as justification for her outburst was and is that it was a cop-out and about as cheap as they come. It leaves a very bad taste.

    Exactly! That’s one of the things I was planning to elaborate on. Not only is Davis using the child’s murder as an excuse, I think she also hopes that it will serve as a diversion. It’s unthinkable!

    Thanks for letting me rant here. This whole thing has really struck a nerve.

Leave a Reply

