6 comments on “Unbalanced.

  1. GOD does not exist, people who believe the earth is 6000 years old are “loonies and idiots” and teaching children to fear the fires of hell is plain evil.

    The two latter points I agree with. We don’t teach our children that they will burn in hell because we don’t believe in hell. We certainly don’t teach our children that the earth is 6 millennia old, it is far older than that. We don’t teach our children that evolution is just a theory either – but we all believe in God.

    Mr Dawkins hates religion – that is his prerogative, but I do wish he wouldn’t keep trying to bash us over the head with his thoughts. T’wit

    People can believe what they want, but I wish they would leave the rest of us alone

    I feel the same about him – but I don’t have the same platform to air my ‘Biased’ views either.

  2. Mr Dawkins hates religion – that is his prerogative, but I do wish he wouldn’t keep trying to bash us over the head with his thoughts.

    And you could probably feel the same about me. And, yet, all Dawkins, Hitchens, me, et al are really doing is responding to something that, frankly, has been encroaching on our lives for… well, since before we had lives! I’ve always been fairly open about my long-standing atheism — but my decision to be more “vocal” about it, via my blog etc, was purely a reaction, an attempt to balance the scales somewhat.

    I’ll be happy for Dawkins to shut up, however. As soon as Dr Rowan Williams, Cardinal Keith O’Brien etc (who have, arguably, a far larger platform from which to air their views) shut up.

  3. *blinks* I don’t know if it’s just the way that these things are reported, but the overwhelming majority of the fundie cretins… Sorry, Creationists, seems to hail from Scotland.

    Anyone else noticed that?

  4. Scotland does seem to have more than its fair share. Whether it’s a misrepresentation, I don’t know, but… well, I’d believe anything of a race that eats haggis.

  5. Gary, not wanting to insult you or your blog – because I want your blog to become exceptionally successful, but you nor I have those platforms so we can debate with each other on this level.

    I respect that you are atheist – I won’t condemn you to hell because of it, that is your choice and the fact that we don’t believe in hell.

    But if I ever get to where I can have a greater platform to voice my opinion louder than yours, I will keep my mouth firmly shut.

    I take and agree with your latter point, those who spout religious dogma should be prepared to debate it, and they should accept the criticism.

  6. Gary, not wanting to insult you or your blog – because I want your blog to become exceptionally successful, but you nor I have those platforms so we can debate with each other on this level.

    Quite right, Will. I’m all for healthy debate among friends (and I do consider you a friend.)

    I respect that you are atheist – I won’t condemn you to hell because of it, that is your choice and the fact that we don’t believe in hell.

    Well, you thankfully don’t, mate, but many Christians do, alas. Thankfully, it isn’t actually an issue, though, since I clearly, like you, don’t buy the whole hell thing 😉

    But if I ever get to where I can have a greater platform to voice my opinion louder than yours, I will keep my mouth firmly shut.

    I think that if it were a case that you or I getting a prominent platform from which to speak caused an imbalance in our debate, I’d be inclined to go along with that. As far as the larger debate is concerned, however, I’m not sure how I’d proceed. I don’t think I could ever be as vocal as those currently at the forefront of the debate, but if asked I suppose I’d put my two pence worth in 😉

    I take and agree with your latter point, those who spout religious dogma should be prepared to debate it, and they should accept the criticism.

    But go easy on the bloke on the street who’s just doing his best to live a decent life? Yes, I can see you’re point, Will. Food for thought. Cheers.

    Oh, and thanks for the kind thoughts regarding my blog. It’s appreciated.

Leave a Reply

