4 comments on “Blasphemy!

  1. If a group of men could vote and determine right from wrong then what is right and wrong? And I don’t think of blasphemy as a silly law. It’s more like just being thoughtless about Who you’re talking about. Jesus is the gold medal of the universe. He is completely satisfying and the giver of great happiness. So think of the most precious thing to you and then use that word in place of God’s. Seems crazy. God should be the most precious thing. This shows the problem with blasphemy.

    God Bless!

  2. If a group of men could vote and determine right from wrong then what is right and wrong?

    Well, actually, I find the whole question of what is right or wrong very easy, as a rule. But this was more about whether this old, hardly used law was needed any more when far more effective and less biased laws exist.

    And I don’t think of blasphemy as a silly law. It’s more like just being thoughtless about Who you’re talking about. Jesus is the gold medal of the universe. He is completely satisfying and the giver of great happiness. So think of the most precious thing to you and then use that word in place of God’s. Seems crazy. God should be the most precious thing. This shows the problem with blasphemy.

    You’re talking about blasphemy. I’m specifically addressing the matter of the UK’s archaic blasphemy law. A law which, if it had been applied, would have restricted my right to say what I want to say about your beliefs whilst not affording my lack of belief (or, rather, my love of the rational, scientific and logical approach to life) the same protection.

    God Bless!

    Time will no doubt tell. 🙂 But thank you for the thought. It’s much appreciated.

  3. I am a Christian, Gary – and I gladly see that this law has died.

    A religious hate law is more apt – I only hope it is used when people venomously attack the Christian faith as it will be used if and when people attack the Islamic faith.

    Personally I don’t care which faith or faithless people follow, I would prefer that people respected my thoughts as I do theirs.

  4. Personally I don’t care which faith or faithless people follow, I would prefer that people respected my thoughts as I do theirs.

    Yes, I’m generally happy for everyone to follow there own path — except when it wanders over onto mine 🙂 I’m tolerant, unless it becomes a case of someone pushing their faith, then I put my foot down.

    Though not always… it depends on individual attitude. Sometimes it’s good to debate faith.

    As for the law… yes, anti-hate laws are potentially far better if, as you say, they are applied equally. Let’s hope.

Leave a Reply

