13 comments on “Drawing the Line.

  1. I like this notion of “spin-off” stories. It will help you stay focussed on your central narrative but also allow you to tell other related tales to flesh out your account. I think there’s a real risk of putting too much in a book–I’m just completing final edits on my novel and during this process have cut 11 pages from a 475 page manuscript. Tightening, making sure I use as few words as possible, even trimming “he said” and “she said”, letting the characters’ voices tell you who’s speaking a line of dialogue. Good post, you raise important points writers need to ponder…

  2. I think there’s a real risk of putting too much in a book

    There is. Couldn’t agree more, Cliff. As a reader, some of the most satisfying moments I have are those that are implied — those subtle little touches that make you feel as if you’ve really met the characters somewhere between the lines. That’s what I want to achieve as a writer with Children of the Resolution.

    Good post, you raise important points writers need to ponder…

    Thank you. And thanks also for taking the time to share your thoughts.

  3. Gary:

    Good chatting with you. The film version of my novella is being produced by Twisted Pictures (the folks who do the “Saw” movies). More details on my site, don’t wanna use your blog to pump my career.
    I’m tacky but not THAT tacky…

  4. Will have a better look round your site later, Cliff — sounds like you’re moving beyond “cult status”, though. Congratulations!

    I’m tacky but not THAT tacky…

    Nothing wrong with a little shameless self-promotion 😉

  5. that sounds like a great idea. it would be a good gauge of reaction to the work with regard to the tone of the piece too, as these fragments will be no doubt be in keeping with the tone of the rest of the novel. my brushstrokes are often a little too wide more than anything, the balance is a difficult one to achieve.

  6. Hi Matt,

    Been a while. How you keeping?

    Yes, the idea is beginning to really appeal. I actually had your “mini” stories in mind when the idea occurred. I’ve always enjoyed their online “snapshot” appeal. So thanks! 🙂

  7. My editor cut quite a lot out of my recent non-fiction book. It was a painful process at times but also a valuable one. “Less is more”, he kept telling me. And now I agree. But it’s really hard to get that distance from your own work (fiction or non-f) in order to see what should be cut, don’t you think?

  8. But it’s really hard to get that distance from your own work (fiction or non-f) in order to see what should be cut, don’t you think?

    I do, Peter, yes. I’ve worked with a number of fellow writers over the years, and it’s always easier to edit their work! I do think it can be done, though. The old trick of setting the first draft aside for a month or two can help, and, also, a few rules or guidlines about overuse of adjectives, killing your “darlings” (those pretentious, purple moments) etc is always useful.

  9. Hi Gary
    Thanks of the hungry ghost, i had to send it to aly to print it off i don;t think this computer is very good( You would think i was an expert not) I don;t mind what happens to my messages when i send them to you, nobody will be interested in my load of gobbldgoop(don;t supose that is spelt right either) Hope you are all keeping well i didn;t see your mam @ dad today? Well i had better get some house work done before emmerdale (is that the time no time of work i;ll just sit and watch t v . speak to you soon Ang x.

  10. Hi Ang,

    Oh, this is the Internet, m’dear — you’d be surprised what some people are interested in 🙂

    Bill and Sandra were in M&S yesterday but they must have missed you. They were a bit later than usual, I believe. (I expect you’ll see them next week, then you can tell them how wonderfully talented you think I am 😉 )

    Take care and enjoy Hungry Ghosts! xx

  11. Pingback: Looking Back… « Gary William Murning Online

Leave a Reply

