6 comments on “Step Inside the Pearl (No! Don’t!)

  1. uuuhuuuh, I see what you doing here. You are giving us videos to watch to keep us out of your hair……WELL IT AINT WORKING MR! HERE I AM!:-P

    What the heck is a Chakra? I keep seeing that word and I’m too lazy to google it.

  2. Typically, new methods or purely metaphysical methods are considered worthless by mainstream medical/science people that prefer their constructed dogmatic stance over evidence. I experimented with many forms of new-age methods and yes, much of it is nonsense to me.

    After injuring my lower back once, I asked the physician about chiropractic medicine and he said it was nonsense, even though it is based on known facts of the spinal structure and how misalignment can cause pinched nerves which can cause muscle failures. Some physicians still think it’s a bunch of bunk.

    I consider that clearing technique I blogged about to be metaphysical in that it is of the mind, but I have seen beneficial physical evidence with myself and other people. However, my claims should never be proof to anyone else.

    It’s good to see Richard actually trying the techniques as any good scientist should, rather than simply passing it all off as nonsense without experimenting.

  3. I think the principle problem I have with these alternative methods is that they are granted a special privelege, Max. They aren’t forced into rigorous trials and repeated double-blind tests before being allowed to make their claims — and, yet, with something as bizarre as homeopathy, it’s available on the NHS and funded by the tax payer. I’m happy to keep an open mind, so long as the playing field of trials and testing is level, which it clearly isn’t (and which makes me immediately suspicious.)

  4. Oh I agree! They should be dissected and raked over with a fine tooth comb via non-biased third party professional investigators. They should not be funded with tax payer’s money until they are proven valid. Like Richards says, too many are give special privileges without any real scientific backing or scrutiny, and too many people fall for the scams. Even if some people think it has benefitted them, it can usually be determined that simple mind control via subtle suggestions was the only thing in play. That only proves that some afflictions in some cases are due to errant mind programming. The human mind is powerful, but only in how it can correct itself via many means, but it cannot fix or combat certain environmental or hereditary influences.

    The only claim I make regarding the clearing technique I expanded upon is that it represents a way to deprogram the subconscious mind. The only results I have are personal and the words of the people I’ve worked with directly. To make my clearing technique a valid process would require psychological prescreening of test subjects by doctors, use of control groups, and then post screenings to verify that mental changes really did happen.

  5. The human mind is powerful [….]

    This aspect, the obvious benefit of the placebo effect, is another reason for rigorous testing, IMHO. Something does happen, in many cases — and a scientific understanding of it would be of great value.

    The only claim I make regarding the clearing technique I expanded upon is that it represents a way to deprogram the subconscious mind. The only results I have are personal and the words of the people I’ve worked with directly.

    Understood, mate.

Leave a Reply

