8 comments on “The Measure of Worth.

  1. “We are built to engage with others.”

    Yes! I agree, Gary!

    I believe we are all about relating and relationships. People have more in common than not. It is a shame that there is so much cynicism, and prejudgments set before people. If you don’t fit into another’s particular slant or worldview, then you don’t have any validity as a person; you’re not to be taken seriously. Now we have people airing their childish and lofty opinions on the validity of blogging. Small minded.

    “it’s the process that’s important. People interest me. I like them. I like reading their thoughts on my work.”

    You are so sweet and open! Never mind the rogue criticisms, keep blogging! You have worth 🙂 Not that you need MY validation since validation comes within!

  2. Is it really so difficult to understand?

    Nope. Not a bit. This is great, Gary; very insightful.

    I’m not a writer in the same way you are, obviously. But I enjoy blogging for some of the same reasons you mentioned. Not only do I enjoy the interaction and feedback, I also find it therapeutic in a way. It helps me clear my head.

    I also enjoy looking back on things I wrote when it’s no longer as close to home as it may have been when I wrote it. When I do that, I often see things in a different light. I believe it actually helps me grow and improve as a person.

    Yes, I believe that human interaction as well as personal growth are definitely worthwhile endeavors. Facts have their place, but they are not always necessary, as you clearly pointed out using the pub as an example. And there’s a lot more to education than fact-checking. If I memorize a list of facts and never learn how to apply them in real life or to the people with whom I interact, how educated (as in, developed) am I, really?

    I don’t know if any of that made sense to you. You and Mike are much better at putting words to your thoughts than I am. I hope you at least understand the gist of what I’m saying.

    Sorry to go on for so long, I just found this very interesting and decided to ramble on here, for a change. 😉

  3. Selena:

    People have more in common than not.

    This is very true — although too often we allow quite minor differences too much weight and the result is that they can only ever get in the way. Children of the Resolution addresses this, at times, actually.

    You are so sweet and open! Never mind the rogue criticisms, keep blogging! You have worth Not that you need MY validation since validation comes within!

    Well, I’m not sure about being “open” (you’ll never read any truly personal posts on this blog), but thank you. I try to present my thoughts and opinions with consideration and honesty. If anything, I think that’s my definition of validity.

    As for “sweet”… yup, that’s me 😉

    Lottie:

    I don’t know if any of that made sense to you. You and Mike are much better at putting words to your thoughts than I am. I hope you at least understand the gist of what I’m saying.

    It makes perfect sense, Lottie. Life requires many skills. Blogs can help us hone those skills and understand our “place” in the world, externalise thoughts so that we can review them more objectively. Excellent points.

    Carry on rambling! 😉

  4. “Yes, it’s flattering when people leave positive comments”
    Nice post. Flattered? 🙂

    I like your point of blogs just being the 21st century equivalent of pub ramble (if that was indeed your point). But I do also sometimes cringe when I read people’s personal blogs that are sometimes way too personal and inane.

  5. Selena:

    open as in open minded toward people

    Ah, I see. Yes, I guess I am… or I at least try to be 🙂

    Popscience:

    Flattered?

    Yup 🙂

    I like your point of blogs just being the 21st century equivalent of pub ramble (if that was indeed your point).

    More a case of their serving many purposes and “value” being judged on more than just “facts”. (Though I do, of course, value facts! 🙂 )

    But I do also sometimes cringe when I read people’s personal blogs that are sometimes way too personal and inane.

    Me too… but the question remains, whilst they may not have value to us, are they actually without value?

  6. I am sure some of your readers are much too young to remember it, but your article brought to mind memories of “Speakers Corner” in Hyde Park, London. I was wondering if the use of the “blog” is a 21st Century version of “Speakers Corner”. Is it still there? Anyone could stand on their soapbox and discuss (in as loud a voice as possible in order to attract an audience) their thoughts on every topic under the sun.

Leave a Reply

