34 comments on “George Orwell — Why I Write.

  1. A thought-provoking piece by Orwell, which makes any writer reading it to look into their own heart, and see the egotism and exhibitionism lurking there, ready to come to the fore when the writer next composes a piece.

    In saying that as he progressed through life as a writer his style became simpler, Orwell was implying that his ego, which had manifested in superfluous flowery prose, became more muted the older he became.

    I think this is the same with most writers. There is less need to show off and write for affect as one gets older.

    Your posting reminds me I should re-read Orwell, whom I haven’t read in a long, long time.

  2. This was a wonderful read to start the day with Gary. 0ften you are my window into the more literate and civil aspects of word as an art form.
    As I spend much of time reveling in the crass and base aspects of stories and humor ( Which I enjoy by the way) it’s always refreshing to at times start the day with a little bit of quality.
    Take care mate will be in touch soon.

  3. Richard: You are very welcome!

    David: The poem is wonderful, as is the whole essay. (I think you were among those who suggested I read it, so thank you!)

    Christopher: Your posting reminds me I should re-read Orwell, whom I haven’t read in a long, long time. Yes, there’s much I want to re-read — 1984, especially.

    John: You do “crass and base” with such style, though, mate 😉 How’s it going?

  4. Writing a book is a horrible, exhausting struggle, like a long bout of some painful illness. One would never undertake such a thing if one were not driven on by some demon whom one can neither resist nor understand.

    Ain’t that the truth. If I weren’t compelled to try to write, I wouldn’t. I love the end result, but the process is just awful, an agony of indecision and unhappiness hidden in every word.

  5. I must admit, that’s one point on which George and I don’t actually see eye-to-eye. I quite enjoy the process, on the whole. Yes, it’s hard work and some days I dread starting, but once I succeed in “falling into” the story and the words start coming, it can be a real buzz (for me.) I do feel driven by something I don’t understand, at times, but I feel comfortable with that.

    There are are struggles, naturally, and, yes, the indecision and uncertainty can eat you up if you let it. But “horrible” seems to overstate it from where I’m sitting. Smacks of the “tortured writer” 🙂

  6. Meh. Not so young as all that anymore. I shall be 28 this year. And yes, I know that’s by no stretch old… But it’s not 21, either.

  7. Pingback: Exercise Tiger

  8. No — truth be known, I don’t really feel old. After all, forty is the new thirty etc. 😉 I just like fishing for sympathy and compliments (“You don’t look a day over twenty-five!” etc), neither of which seems to be forthcoming, so I’m off to hang myself 😉

  9. If forty is the new thirty, what are the early thirties? Gary, are you a pisces? A fundy doing astrology…

  10. The early thirties would be… “Can I see some ID, miss?” 😉

    Gary, are you a pisces?

    Nope, a virgo. Not that I ever take any notice of that unscientific, superstitious rubbish 😉

    A fundy doing astrology…

    You’re going to Hell(ton?)! 🙂 See ya there! 😉

  11. The early thirties would be… “Can I see some ID, miss?”

    Yep, you’re my new best friend!

    You’re going to Hell(ton?)! See ya there!

    LOL!!

  12. I’m off to hang myself

    That might present technical difficulties – how will you get the chair onto the stool and kick it over?

  13. Assisted suicide? Any volunteers?

    No way! But for strictly selfish reasons, of course: Mike and I would miss you too much! 😀

    Don’t know if Mike remembered to deliver my message to you… I’ve been trying to read your blog and kept having trouble getting it to load right. I think it’s either my browser or operating system; I have Linux on this thing, and I’m still getting used to it. It opened right up this time, though, and I wanted to take the opportunity to say hi. If it’s still OK after I post this, I’ll have a closer look around.

    Cheers, mate! (Was that jolly English enough? LOL)

  14. Awwwww… okay, I’ll postpone the hanging. I’m not in the mood, anyway. 😉

    Yes, Mike mentioned that. garymurning.com is just a referer to https://garymurning.wordpress.com — so I’m guessing it’s a WordPress “issue”. Possibly my custom theme.

    How is it now?

    Great to see you over here. (And I know your name now!)

  15. Awwwww… okay, I’ll postpone the hanging. I’m not in the mood, anyway.

    Yeah… neither am I. Let’s eat pie instead. 😉

    How is it now?

    It seems fine when I first open it. When I start scrolling, though, I see a bunch of grey lines across the screen. I can stop and refresh to clear it up, but sometimes that takes me back to the top and I end up doing it all over again. Did that make any sense at all?

    Great to see you over here. (And I know your name now!)

    Oh good! It’s probably about time I started establishing my own identity. I had only intended to use this ID once to reply to the post Mike made about me. Then I got sucked in… lol

    I’m about to go public anyway, with my very own blog. Yay me! 😀

    Thanks for the welcome, Gary. See ya’ later.

  16. It seems fine when I first open it. When I start scrolling, though, I see a bunch of grey lines across the screen. I can stop and refresh to clear it up, but sometimes that takes me back to the top and I end up doing it all over again. Did that make any sense at all?

    It does. Something similar happens when I check the page via my PDA — though it isn’t as intrusive as this problem seems to be (I can still read the text etc.) What browser are you using? Firefox?

    I’m about to go public anyway, with my very own blog. Yay me!

    Excellent! I look forward to dropping by and doing my level best to annoy the hell out of you 🙂

  17. Gary:

    Yeah, I have Firefox. You?

    Excellent! I look forward to dropping by and doing my level best to annoy the hell out of you

    Then you might as well start now, since I’ve already gone and outed myself. 😀

    Mike:

    Yeah, that makes perfect sense – pie makes everything better.

    Of course it does! But only if it’s served à la Mode. I thought that went without saying.

    See? I told you your warped sense of humour has rubbed off on me. 😉

  18. Oops! I thought, when I posted last night, that my name was linking to it, but I had forgotten to set that up. Should be working now.

    There’s not much there right now, and I’m planning to take a different direction to the gloomy one described in A Little About Me. But feel free to stop in and “annoy” me any time. 😉

    Oh… and I meant to comment on this:

    Apple and blackberry do ya?

    That sounds SO yummy! I’ve had apple, and I’ve had blackberry, but never the combination. That really does sound good enough to solve everything. LOL

  19. Will drop by and have a look a wee bit later, Lottie. I’m being creative right now (in spite of Mike’s email distractions 😉 )

    That sounds SO yummy! I’ve had apple, and I’ve had blackberry, but never the combination. That really does sound good enough to solve everything. LOL

    My personal favourite — with lots of double cream 🙂

  20. Gary ~ “I’m being creative.”

    take a break from writing and allow me to read you a story…

    True Skunny Story

    (If I had a lisp the title would read, “True Thkunny Thtory…but anyway…)

    Do you remember when you were a kid, sitting in the back seat of the old car, hearing only portions of the adult conversation taking place in the front seat? Well, I do, and every once in awhile my Skunny ears would quickly perk up when I heard this word: “Hellephino!” “Awww, how cute,” I would think to myself as I eagerly raised up to look out of the car window looking for the little hellephino the adults were speaking so loudly about. I never saw one. I would look everywhere! Man those hellephinos must be quick! Now, only clever people visit here, so I know you all know what I am saying, “hell if I know.” I finally figured out what the adults were saying. I know, I am a bit slow on some things, or, thlow – whatever. It’s just kind of a let down to know there really isn’t such a thing as a hellephino because I think they would get along really well with skunnies…

  21. In the UK, in the seventies, we had tiny, cars (we had a VW Beetle 🙂 ), so I heard every word very cleary 😉

    Nice story. Have you heard King talk about his son’s fear of “the Green Ripper”?

Leave a Reply

