10 comments on “Saturday — At Rest.

  1. Read only the prologue, but was instantly intrigued–so yes right track (will read more later) duty calls. 🙂

  2. Finished chapters one and two and wasn’t even a little disappointed–good stuff all the way. Your competition was Anne Lamott so consider that an extra compliment!

  3. It’s ages since I read anything other than text books Gary, so thanks for grabbing my attention. I was hooked after the first few words of The Prologue and because I am such a nosy bugger, I wanted to know about about this man. Pinching Andreas words, you were “right on the button”.
    I couldn’t help but smile to myself more than a few times while reading the two Chapters you have given us to read so far. Especially the “wrong words” in the boys’ conversations. My partner David says things like that all the time e.g. “We must take the cat to the Vet to get it sprayed”.

    Will now wait for your next installment.

  4. Hi Gordon! Good to hear from you, my friend.

    I’m so pleased it grabbed your attention. As I was saying to Evanne, I was concerned about the prologue (I think, primarily, because it’s such an important tool in grabbing the reader’s attention; if it fails, the reader might stick it back on the shelf in Waterstones and it won’t matter how good the rest is.) I’m now feeling a lot better about it. Thank you.

    David sounds like an amusing guy to have around 😉 My mother’s very much the same, as was her mother. I don’t invent, just listen 🙂

    Keep in touch. Always nice to hear from you.

  5. I have to say, I’m very impressed with what you’ve done so far. You set the scene beautifully. There’s a real sense of sympathy from the start that connects with the characters on an emotional level, but at the same time there’s some wonderfully vivid descriptions that helped me connect in a very visual sense too. You’ve set tihngs up nicely, I feel, giving everything a context, a defined time setting, and real personality throughout. As I reached the end of Chapter Two, the only disappointment was that there wasn’t a chapter three to carry on with. Hopefully there will be soon. I look forward to it.

  6. Thanks, Steven! As I may have already mentioned, I’m feeling so much more confident and settled about it, now. In general terms, it’s doing what I want it to do. A satisfying start.

    Three and Four coming soon… and then future chapters will only be available to you and few others via email. Don’t want all of it up here, for obvious reasons.

Leave a Reply

