11 comments on “The Pleasure of Finding Things Out.

  1. That is awesome that his dad read to him from encyclopedias! That kind of reading will outclass fictions in how it will open up a child’s mind to reality and in wanting to know how things work.

  2. Couldn’t agree more, Maxwell — though I guess it depends on the child. Feynman was an especially gifted kid and responded to his dad’s method. Some would need it dressing up more as a game/story, but still a great approach to parenting.

  3. I haven’t watched the vids (being at work and all), but Douglas Adams made a similar point in one of the Dirk Gently books, The Long Dark Teatime of The Soul, I think. I’ll see if I can fish it out.

  4. I’ve never read any Douglas Adams, Mike (I know, I should), but I love the Adams’ quote that Dawkins uses as an epigraph for The God Delusion:

    “Isn’t it enough to see that a garden is beautiful without having to believe that there are fairies at the bottom of it too? “

  5. I was put off as a kid by the BBC’s TV adaptation of Hitch-Hiker’s. May be time for me to get over it and try again. 26 years is a long time to hold a grudge 😉

  6. Sorry… Ought I not to have mentioned that?

    BTW, I’d be most interested in hearing your thoughts on my recent post: On Politics. It’s a little abstract.

  7. lol… I was feeling rather old as it was, Mike, without you rubbing it in 😉 (j/k)

    Still digesting your recent posts. The On Politics one is indeed thought-provoking — and I especially like the English Parliament proposal. Will comment when I have a mo.

  8. Pingback: Looking Back… « Gary William Murning Online

Leave a Reply

